Halo Books in Order (35 Books in Order) The Complete Guide

halo books in order

Since its inception, Halo has evolved beyond being a mere video game and has transformed into a vast and immersive universe. This expansive narrative encompasses numerous planets and eras, featuring a rich tapestry of characters, races, and viewpoints. Through various forms of media, it weaves tales of bravery, awe-inspiring moments, and profound cosmic sorrow.

Starting in 2001, when Halo: The Fall of Reach was published ahead of the debut of Halo: Combat Evolved, books have played a pivotal role in delving into the extensive backstory of the Halo universe. These literary works have allowed fans to uncover the ancient conflicts between the Forerunners and the Flood, the harrowing origins of the SPARTAN-II program, and the relentless battles of the Covenant War. They have provided an immersive experience, shedding light on events that occurred before, during, and even after the main Halo storyline.

For those who haven’t yet read the Halo book series or are about to re-read them, we’ve put together this guide on how to read Halo books in order, chronologically, or by release date.

How many Halo books are there in the series?

The Halo universe consists of 9 different series, and individual novels, novellas, and anthologies. Currently, there are 35 books written by 13 different authors.

The ultimate guide on how to read Halo books

You can read them in either order of publication or chronological order of the Halo universe. However, it is best to read them in order of publication if you are a first-time reader. Re-reading the series? Chronological order might be your choice.

Halo books in order of publication

As mentioned before, if you are a first-time reader, it is best to read them in order of publication. This approach surely allows you to encounter the books in the same manner as the millions of devoted fans did during their initial release.

  • Halo: The Fall of Reach (2001) By Eric Nylund
  • Halo: The Flood (2003) By William C. Dietz
  • Halo: First Strike (2003) By Eric Nylund
  • Halo: Ghosts of Onyx (2006) By Eric Nylund
  • Halo: Contact Harvest (2007) By Joseph Staten
  • Halo: The Cole Protocol (2008) By Tobias S. Buckell
  • Halo: Evolutions – Essential Tales of the Halo Universe (2010) By Tobias S. Buckell, Frank O’Connor
  • Halo: Cryptum (2011) By Greg Bear
  • Halo: Glasslands (2011) By Karen Traviss
  • Halo: Primordium (2012) By Greg Bear
  • Halo: The Thursday War (2012) By Karen Traviss
  • Halo: Silentium (2013) By Greg Bear
  • Halo: Mortal Dictata (2014) By Karen Traviss
  • Halo: Broken Circle (2014) By John Shirley
  • Halo: Hunters in the Dark (2015) By Peter David
  • Halo: Saint’s Testimony (2015) By Frank O’Connor
  • Halo: Last Light (2015) By Troy Denning
  • Halo: New Blodd (2015) By Matt Forbeck
  • Halo: Shadow of Intent (2015) By Joseph Staten
  • Halo: Fractures (2016) Matt Forbeck
  • Halo: Smoke and Shadow (2016) By Kelly Gay
  • Halo: Envoy (2017) By Tobias S. Buckell
  • Halo: Retribution (2017) By Troy Denning
  • Halo: Legacy of Onyx (2017) By Matt Forbeck
  • Halo: Bad Blood (2018) By Matt Forbeck
  • Halo: Silent Storm (2018) By Troy Denning
  • Halo: Renegades (2019) By Kelly Gay
  • Halo: Oblivion (2019) By Troy Denning
  • Halo: Battle Born (2019) By Cassandra Rose Clarke
  • Halo: Meridian Divide (2019) By Cassandra Rose Clarke
  • Halo: Shadows of Reach (2020) By Troy Denning
  • Halo: Point of Light (2021) By Kelly Gay
  • Halo: Divine Wind (2021) By Troy Denning
  • Halo: The Rubicon Protocol (2022) By Kelly Gay
  • Halo: Outcasts (2023) By Troy Denning

Halo books in chronological order

If you’ve already read the Halo series, and are about to re-read them, the following list is just for you, since this reading method will help you gain access to a chronological sequence of events that effectively enhances your comprehension of the historical narrative within the Halo universe as it unfolds in real time.

  • Halo: Cryptum
  • Halo: Primordium
  • Halo: Silentium
  • Halo: Rebirth
  • Halo: Broken Circle (first half)
  • Halo: Contact Harvest
  • Halo: The Cole Protocol
  • Halo: Battle Born (Upcoming)
  • Halo: Battle Born – Meridian Divide (Upcoming)
  • Halo: The Fall of Reach
  • Halo: Silent Storm
  • Halo: Oblivion
  • Halo: The Flood
  • Halo: First Strike
  • Halo: Broken circle (second half)
  • Halo: Ghosts of Onyx
  • Halo: Glasslands
  • Halo: The Thursday War
  • Halo: Mortal Dictata
  • Halo: Last Light
  • Halo: Retribution
  • Halo: Shadow of Intent
  • Halo: New Blood
  • Halo: Hunters in the Dark
  • Halo: Smoke and Shadow
  • Halo: Renegades
  • Halo: Saint’s Testimony
  • Halo: Point of Light
  • Halo: Envoy
  • Halo: Legacy of Onyx
  • Halo: Bad Blood
  • Halo: Sacrifice
  • Halo: Shadows of Reach
  • Halo: Divine Wind
  • Halo: Outcasts
  • Halo: The Rubicon Protocol
  • Halo: Epitaph (Upcoming)

Do the Halo books share any connections or relationships?

The Halo books establish connections through characters and events, existing within a shared universe regardless of their chronological order. While certain series primarily revolve around specific characters within a particular timeline, standalone books may feature unique perspectives while remaining connected to the overall franchise through the shared universe.

Upcoming Halo books

  • Halo: Epitaph (Expected: February 27, 2024) By Kelly Gay
  • Halo: Battle Born (Expected: March 26, 2024) By Cassandra Rose Clarke
  • Halo: Meridian Divide (Expected: April 30, 2024) By Cassandra Rose Clarke
  • Halo: Empty Throne (Expected: July 30, 2024) By Jeremy Patenaude

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

One Comment

  1. I’ve only read 2 of the Eric Nylund books (Fall of Reach and First Strike)

    I loved both of them though, especially “Fall of Reach.” I didn’t know where to start. Thnx for the article.