Sherlock Holmes Books in Order | 2 Ways to Read the Series

Sherlock Holmes Books in Order

Looking for a list of Sherlock Holmes books in order? Our helpful guide will make sure you read Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s detective tales in the correct order. Whether you’re new to these mysteries or a big fan, our guide will show you the perfect way to enjoy Sherlock Holmes’ timeless adventures.

About Sherlock Holmes and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle (1859–1930) was a British physician and writer best known for his creation of Sherlock Holmes. Doyle was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, and studied medicine at the University of Edinburgh. Despite achieving success as a doctor, he found his true passion in writing.

Apart from the Sherlock Holmes stories, Doyle wrote historical fiction, science fiction, plays, and non-fiction works. He was a prolific writer and a prominent figure in the literary and spiritualist circles of his time. Doyle’s other notable works include “The Lost World” and “The White Company.”

Sherlock Holmes, on the other hand, is a fictional detective created by British author Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. The character first appeared in the novel “A Study in Scarlet,” published in 1887. Holmes quickly became one of the most famous and enduring characters in detective fiction. He is known for his keen powers of observation, logical reasoning, and deductive skills, as well as his mastery of disguise and forensic science.

Despite his success as a writer, Doyle’s knighthood in 1902 was primarily for his contributions to medicine. He continued to write and engage in various pursuits until his death in 1930. Doyle’s legacy endures through his iconic detective, Sherlock Holmes, and his significant impact on the detective fiction genre.

Sherlock Holmes Books in Order of Publication

  1. A Study in Scarlet (1887)
  2. The Sign of the Four (1890)
  3. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1892) (Short Stories)
  4. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1894) (Short Stories)
  5. The Hound of the Baskervilles (1902)
  6. The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1905) (Short Stories)
  7. The Valley of Fear (1914)
  8. His Last Bow (1917) (Short Stories)
  9. The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes (1927) (Short Stories)

Sherlock Holmes Books in Chronological Order

  1. A Study in Scarlet
  2. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
  3. The Sign of Four
  4. The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes
  5. The Valley of Fear
  6. The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
  7. The Return of Sherlock Holmes
  8. His Last Bow
  9. The Hound of the Baskervilles

How to Read the Sherlock Holmes Books in Order

The Sherlock Holmes stories written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle can be read in either publication order or chronological order, and there is no strict rule on which is the “correct” way. Both approaches have their merits, and it ultimately depends on personal preference. Here are the reasons for each:

Reasons for Publication Order:

  1. This is the order in which Sir Arthur Conan Doyle wrote and published the stories. The first Sherlock Holmes story, “A Study in Scarlet,” was published in 1887, and the last one, “The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes,” was published in 1927.
  2. Reading in publication order allows you to follow the development of the characters and Doyle’s writing style over time.
  3. It gives you a sense of the cultural and historical context in which the stories were written.

Reasons for Chronological Order:

  1. This order follows the timeline of events within the Sherlock Holmes universe. It starts with Holmes and Watson meeting and moves forward in their fictional timeline.
  2. Reading in chronological order provides a more coherent narrative if you want to follow the characters’ lives in the sequence of events within the stories.
  3. Some readers prefer chronological order as it helps them see the progression of Holmes and Watson’s relationship and the unfolding of their adventures.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply